Posted by: rinaakimm | May 2, 2010

The Current

Today, Joni Eareckson is an internationally known mouth artist, a talented vocalist, a radio host, an author of 17 books and an advocate for disabled persons worldwide. She preaches around the world sharing the message of how suffering for the sake of the Lord should be counted as a blessing. She gives hope to the hopeless. Here is an excerpt of her own eternal hope:

“I can’t wait for the day when I’m given my brand new glorified body. I’m going to stand up, stretch, dance, kick, do a aerobics, comb my own hair, blow my own nose, and what is so poignant is that I’ll finally be able to wipe my own tears, but I won’t need to, because the Bible tells us in the book of Revelation that God will personally wipe away every tear. There will be no more need to cry. How ironic that finally on the day when I have my hands so I can blow my own nose and wipe own tears I won’t have to. I look forward to that day. I never used to when I was on my feet. I thought heaven was pie in the sky by and by. I used to think that it was an escape from reality , a psychological crutch, but no, no, no, heaven is the reality and when you have your heart fixed on heaven it helps you live life better down here on earth. You’re able to develop relationships from an even keel. You’re better able to discern how more wisely to use your time, how to invest your talents, your gifts. You begin to see that people are what really count in life. Heavenly glories above, patience, peace, perseverance, life values turned right side up, these are just a few of the things God has shown me in the 26 years I’ve been in this wheelchair. “

We are all to desire this attitude of sharing the eternal hope with those around us. Check out her website at http://www.joniandfriends.org/index.php. Here you will find her ministries around the world and US. You can find out how you yourself can make a difference!


Leave a comment

Categories